Links Page Home Childminders Parents Info. Contact Us

Dorinda Setterington


Hi, my name is Dorinda. I live in Paddock Wood with my husband Gavin. We have four grown up children- our eldest daughter Hannah currently lives in Paddock Wood with our second daughter Laura. Hannah is a Quality Manager for a group of companies, and Laura is a qualified Community Nurse. Our son Thomas is in the Armed Forces, and our youngest daughter Alice has just finished her degree and is starting her Teacher Training. We have one pet- a cat called Wellington. We are a non-smoking household. We are all involved in Scouting and Guiding within Paddock Wood, Gavin a Scout Leader and all us ladies Guide Leaders! I have been a registered childminder since 1999 and was rated good at my last inspection. I hold ‘Public Liability Insurance’ and am a member of ‘Paddock Wood Childminding Association’.


Training and Experience:


My ethos has always been to provide good quality, affordable childcare in a warm safe and caring environment allowing the children to feel part of the family. I pride myself on building good relationships with the parents and children I care for, and remain in contact with the families of those I have worked with in the past. As a childminder I work within the ‘Early Years Foundation Stage’ framework, which involves offering opportunities and experiences for children to grow and learn. I have had training in: Safe Guarding Children, Food Hygiene, Makaton Sign Language, Paediatric First Aid, Observations and Planning  to name but a few.  Prior to becoming a Childminder I worked with adults and children with special needs, those with terminal illnesses and head injuries.


Weekly Activities:


I currently attend our weekly Childminding Group on a Tuesday, Animal Menagerie on a Thursday and enjoys trips to the Library on a Wednesday morning. In the summertime we usually take our tea boxes to St Andrews Park on our way home from the school run where we spend the afternoon playing until parents pick up. At home the children enjoy structured play and fun time, cooking and craft sessions and who doesn’t enjoy breakfast at Costa Coffee on a Friday morning!


Hours and Costs:


My current hours are 7:30am -6:00pm Monday to Friday, but I am always happy to accommodate family’s needs.  Hourly rates available on request and discounts often available for two or more children from the same family. I accept childcare vouchers.


School / Pre-School Pickups:


The primary schools and pre-schools are all within easy walking distance of my home and I currently drop off and collect from Paddock Wood Primary School and Scalligwags Pre-School each day.  


I look forward to hearing from you


My Ofsted Report

dorinda.setterington@tiscali.co.uk

07789916887

01892835471

Member of